Hunger Hurts – Still. A year on…

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

Today is exactly one year since I typed out, on my battered old Nokia, the words that have been reblogged and repeated in international news reports again and again and again over the last twelve months.

The post, entitled ‘Hunger Hurts’, starts with the line:

“Today has seen fourteen job applications go in…for care work, shop work, factory work, minimum wage work, any kind of work, because quite simply, this doesn’t work…”

I repeated the words in Parliament last month to a shocked, silent assembly:

“This morning, Small Boy had one of the last Weetabix, mashed with water, with a glass of tap water to wash it down with. Where’s mummy’s breakfast? He asks, all blue eyes and two year old concern. I tell him I’m not hungry, but the rumbling of my stomach calls me a liar. But these are the things that we do.”

Publicly falling apart at…

View original post 1,145 more words

Leave a Reply

